Best Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes and Smart Pet Feeders (2026): 8 Compared

Updated October 2026 · 5 min read · We may earn a commission from links on this page. Disclosure

Tabby cat sitting between a boxy self-cleaning litter box and a smart pet feeder with a camera

A self-cleaning litter box deals with the scooping for you, and a smart feeder serves meals on a schedule while you’re out. Your cat gets a clean box and dinner on time, and you get a bit of your day back. We’ve lined up eight current US models on the specs their makers publish, so you can pick by cat, space and routine.

The short answer

Up to 4 cats

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Sifts waste away after each visit, shows your cat’s weight in the app, and is listed for up to 4 cats of at least 3 lb each.

Check price on Amazon

Open design

CATLINK Open-X

An open entrance with a 360° view, which may suit cats who don’t like hooded boxes, plus a 12L waste drawer and 30dB operation, per the listing.

Check price on Amazon

Feeder with a camera

PETLIBRO Automatic Pet Feeder with Camera

A 1080p night-vision camera, two-way audio and up to 10 meals a day from a sealed 5L tank.

Check price on Amazon

Side by side

Self-cleaning litter boxes

Model Cats (published) Waste storage Design App extras
Whisker Litter-Robot 4 Up to 4, each 3 lb+ Not stated on listing Enclosed Cat weight, waste and litter levels
PETKIT PuraMax 2 3.3 to 22 lb each 7L sealed bin Enclosed, 76L interior Auto, manual, timer and empty modes
CATLINK Open-X Not stated on listing 12L, up to 15 days for one cat Open entrance Per-cat reports
PETLIBRO Luma Up to 10 recognized; cats up to 22 lb 11L sealed bin Open top AI camera (subscription for analysis)

Smart feeders

Model Capacity Meals per day Camera Wi-Fi
PETLIBRO Automatic Pet Feeder (5L) 5L Up to 10 No 2.4 and 5GHz
PETLIBRO Feeder with Camera 5L Up to 10 1080p, night vision 2.4 and 5GHz
PETKIT Automatic Pet Feeder (3L) 3L Up to 10 No 2.4GHz
PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper Not stated on listing Not stated on listing 1080p, 140°, night vision 2.4GHz

The PuraMax 2, Open-X and Luma listings describe sensors that watch for a cat, and the Luma’s says they pause cleaning. Check the safety details on any listing, and follow each maker’s minimum weight and age guidance for kittens.

The eight

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

The Litter-Robot 4 sifts waste from clean litter after each use, so there’s no scooping. You just empty the drawer. The Whisker app shows waste and litter levels and your cat’s weight after each visit, and it’s listed for up to 4 cats, each at least 3 lb. For odor, it takes carbon filters or optional OdorTrap packs.

Suits: multi-cat homes that like keeping an eye on weight.

Worth knowing: when we checked, it was sold on amazon.com by a third-party seller rather than by Whisker, so look at who the seller is and the warranty before you buy.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETKIT PuraMax 2

The PuraMax 2 has a roomy 76L interior for cats from 3.3 to 22 lb, 7 infrared and 4 weight sensors, a sealed 7L waste bin, and auto, manual, timer and empty modes in the app.

Suits: bigger cats and homes with more than one cat.

Worth knowing: the listing says not to put it on carpet or mats, and it isn’t for kittens under 6 months. It also needs 2.4GHz Wi-Fi.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

CATLINK Open-X

The Open-X keeps its entrance open with a 360° view, which may suit cats who are nervous of hooded boxes. Its 12L drawer holds up to 15 days of waste for one cat, it’s listed at 30dB, and the app gives you per-cat reports. A 9-point safety system uses weight, infrared and anti-pinch protection.

Suits: timid cats and quiet homes.

Worth knowing: the 15-day figure is for one cat, so with more cats you’ll be emptying the drawer more often. The listing states a one-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETLIBRO Luma

The Luma adds an AI camera that watches the waste and can tell #1 from #2. It recognizes up to 10 cats, has an open top for cats up to 22 lb, and comes with an 11L sealed bin and a 2-year warranty, per the listing. Visual, weight and infrared sensors pause cleaning when needed.

Suits: owners who want to keep an eye on their cat’s bathroom habits.

Worth knowing: AI analysis and video recordings need a subscription. The livestream is free, per the listing.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETLIBRO Automatic Pet Feeder (5L, Wi-Fi)

This feeder holds 5L of dry food and serves up to 10 meals a day, 1 to 48 portions each. It works on 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi, and you can record a 10-second meal call so your pet knows dinner’s ready.

Suits: cats and dogs on a fixed feeding plan.

Worth knowing: it has no camera, so you can’t see whether the meal got eaten.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETLIBRO Automatic Pet Feeder with Camera

This one adds a 1080p night-vision camera and two-way audio to a 5L sealed tank and up to 10 meals a day.

Suits: checking in on your pets while you’re out.

Worth knowing: it’s listed for cats and small dogs, so bigger dogs need something else.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETKIT Automatic Pet Feeder (3L, Wi-Fi)

A 3L feeder with a stainless steel bowl, up to 10 meals a day and battery backup if the power drops. The listing estimates about 15 days of food for an adult cat.

Suits: one cat, or a smaller space.

Worth knowing: 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper Feeder with Camera

Two hoppers with separate feeding plans, a 1080p camera with a 140° view and night vision, and two-way audio. You can set camera hours and switch off voice recording in the app.

Suits: two pets, or two different foods.

Worth knowing: the listing doesn’t state capacity or meals per day.

Check price on Amazon Full specifications

How to choose

  • Cat size and number. Check the weight range and how many cats each box is listed for.
  • Nervous cats. An open design such as the CATLINK Open-X or PETLIBRO Luma may be easier for them to accept.
  • Floor. Put litter boxes on a hard, level floor. The PuraMax 2 listing specifically warns against carpet and mats.
  • Feeding while you’re away. A camera feeder lets you see that the meal was eaten.
  • Wi-Fi. Some models need 2.4GHz, so check your router.

Questions

Are self-cleaning litter boxes safe?

The PuraMax 2, Open-X and Luma listings describe sensors that detect a cat, and the Luma’s says they pause cleaning. Check the safety details on each listing and follow its minimum weight and age guidance.

Do these feeders work for dogs?

The PETLIBRO 5L feeder lists cats and dogs, and the camera version lists cats and small dogs. Kibble size matters, so check the listing.

Do any need a subscription?

The PETLIBRO Luma needs one for AI waste analysis and recordings. Its livestream is free.

Browse every model in pet tech.

Our top pick

Whisker Litter-Robot 4 Self-Cleaning Litter Box

  • Type: self-cleaning, sifts waste from clean litter after each use
  • Cats: up to 4 cats, each at least 3 lb
  • App: waste and litter levels, cat weight after each visit
  • Odor: carbon filters or optional OdorTrap packs
  • Sold on amazon.com by a third-party seller (Spreetail) at the time we checked
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you.

Was this useful?

If something here is out of date or we've got something wrong, telling us is the fastest way to get it fixed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *